you're reading...
spring planting, tomato

A Time for New Beginnings in My Side Yard Garden; 04.12.2020

After a hiatus of about two years I’ve decided it’s time to start posting about my side yard garden once again. I’m well into my spring garden. Here in north central Florida planting and growing begin when there is still snow in the ground in the upper Midwest. My seedlings were started around the first of the year, and as of yesterday (when these photos were taken) I have peppers, eggplant, and tomatoes coming along. The determinate tomatoes are exceptional. This year I’m growing one each of Bella Rosa, Talladega, Capaya (these three are typical reds) Nebraska Wedding yellow fruit, Green Zebra green fruit, and Black Sea Man purple fruit.

I’ve created space with vertical trellising for four indeterminate tomatoes. This year I went with Pink Vernissage a rosy large fruit, Brad’s Atomic Grape a multicolored, Chocolate Cherry which is one of the best producers, and Jaune Flamme a golden fruit with a red center.  Jaune Flamme quickly became my favorite last year. It’s one of the best tasting tomatoes I’ve ever had.

There is fruit already forming on some of my plants so I should be enjoying tomatoes in a few weeks. The Pink Vernissage is usually the first to make an edible tomato and is a heavy producer . Below is a photo from 2019. The large fruits are the Pink Vernissage, the small are Chocolate Cherry.

About Sue Patterson

Better bio coming soon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Follow My Side Yard Garden on WordPress.com