you're reading...
Uncategorized

Today in My Side Yard Garden 06.07.17

 We have officially entered “the wet” with 80% chance of rain becoming a reality; my swale is swamped and my gullies have been washed. One of the nice things about the sandy, porous soils here in north central Florida is that rain drains away quickly, even all day heavy rain. This morning when I ventured out between the raindrops to check my side yard garden I found that, although the ground was wet, there was no standing water. We are so blessed in Florida that rain water travels through a significant layer of cleansing, filtering limestone before entering the aquifer. So, the rain water was well in its way.  Today promises to be much like yesterday, heavy, overcast skies without our famously, fabulous Florida sunshine, long periods of heavy rain punctuated by occasional lightning and rumbling thunder. Once the rains subside I’ll look for anything in my side yard garden that’s been damaged. Heavy rains can be especially hard on the Swiss chard and basil leaves. There’s been some red emerging on some of my peppers, so, hopefully when the sun returns in a day or so there will be red peppers ready for plucking.

About Sue Patterson

Better bio coming soon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Follow My Side Yard Garden on WordPress.com